Survey Results: How Chance Families Describe Our School

We asked for input from our Families in the 2016-17 School year through a survey because we value their opinions and want to partner with them. Typically we don’t share complete answers to a question with the entire school community but this year we make an exception because we want you to know how you and other parents describe our school.

We are so pleased to share these responses- Please Enjoy!

The original question and answer feed from Survey Monkey: Answer- How do you describe Virginia Chance School to a friend or co-worker?

 

Q9 How do you describe Virginia Chance School to a friend or co-worker? Answered: 76 Skipped: 15

1 Wonderful school that celebrates children. Love the emphasis on nature and the outdoors and play. I always feel the faculty and staff respect and love my daughter. 1/13/2017 7:02 PM

 

2 Positive learning environment that promotes your child’s strengths while still addressing areas for growth. Provides unique learning opportunities. A place my child is excited to go to everyday and asks to go to on days school is not in session! 1/13/2017 5:50 PM

 

3 A great place to nurture our children’s passion for learning and teach them how to think and ask questions to become a lifelong learner. Teachers and Staff that care about our kids and how they develop. 1/12/2017 7:58 PM

 

4 It is a place where children are encouraged to become capable people and independent thinkers. Their learning is funneled through an understanding of child development which gives each child an opportunity to learn how to love learning. 1/12/2017 3:45 PM

 

5 I usually send the link to the web page. The front page does a good job explaining Chance. 1/12/2017 2:34 PM

 

6 Progressive school that teaches children how to think and uses many teaching methods 1/12/2017 2:31 PM

 

7 A school that promotes developmentally appropriate, hands on learning experiences that follow children’s interests and promotes the importance of outdoor play and exploration. 1/12/2017 1:48 PM

 

8 As a progressive school concerned with individual child growth and expression. 1/11/2017 10:32 AM

 

9 It’s magical, a school with a beautiful atmosphere and amazing outdoor experiences. It challenges my child differently than other schools by prioritizing playtime and helping to develop internal motivation and self-direction. 1/11/2017 9:04 AM

 

10 A learning environment where children are challenged to think for themselves 1/10/2017 9:36 AM

 

11 They embrace your child in how they want to learn with a focus on the world and people around them. 1/9/2017 5:21 PM

 

12 An exciting program with caring adults who work to engage students with child focused activities and project learning. 1/9/2017 1:40 PM

 

13 Small and enriching 1/7/2017 6:48 PM

 

14 Wonderful, progressive private school that emphasizes developing capable young people through positive interactive experiences and teachings. 1/7/2017 9:57 AM

 

15 Well rounded school focusing on the entire child not just education. 1/6/2017 4:43 PM

 

16 A school of compassion that nurtures the whole child with a beautiful wooded campus. 1/6/2017 4:03 PM

 

17 A progressive learning program. Our children learn in a safe, small, loving environment. They are treated with respect and kindness. Chance teaches to the whole child. Educationally, developmentally, socially, and emotionally. 1/5/2017 5:27 PM

 

18 VCS is a school that emphasizes foundational skill building (academic, critical thinking, social and self-management) over specific knowledge attainment or performance 1/5/2017 3:25 PM

 

19 A progressive education that takes the latest research in how children best learn and apply it. 1/5/2017 3:04 PM

 

20 Wonderful place for children to learn and explore. 1/4/2017 11:00 PM

 

21 Progressive school that teaches children how to think not what to think 1/4/2017 9:28 PM

 

22 magical, nurturing, safe 1/4/2017 8:34 PM

 

23 Integrative learning which focuses on the person/student. 1/4/2017 4:47 PM

 

24 I love the physical environment and how much time the kids spend outside. I think that it does lower school education very well. 1/4/2017 3:25 PM

 

25 VCS is a wonderful school that gives me significant peace of mind that I have made the best choice for my children’s social and intellectual development. Through the school’s unique approach to learning and dynamic use of its campus and facilities, they have combined both traditional academic excellence with fostering a deep familiarity and appreciation for the arts and nature into a swirl of positive momentum that is everything I want for my family. Further, they have achieved all this while both respecting the children’s individual needs, and consistently stressing the importance of emotional intelligence and social interaction, creating what I feel are not just intelligent, capable and well-rounded children, but inherently empathetic, kind and purpose-driven young people. 1/4/2017 2:17 PM

 

26 VCS is like dropping our children off in a tree house… They run up the stairs as if it were the most fun thing they will do all day. Children are encouraged to ask questions, explore, dream. They spend as much time as possible outdoors and do not have assigned desks to sit it all day. On Fridays, my kids can’t wait for Monday to come around again. 1/4/2017 1:26 PM

 

27 The best all encompassing life/academic education I could give my child 1/4/2017 12:45 PM

 

28 It is a place where my child experiences learning, rather than sitting down and doing worksheets to learn. 1/4/2017 8:14 AM

 

29 It is a perfect fit. The kids are treated as people with valuable opinions and thoughts. The kids go outside everyday to play. They aren’t stuck in desks all day, they move around and have hands on learning. 12/26/2016 9:24 PM

 

30 It is a perfect fit. The kids are treated as people with valuable opinions and thoughts. The kids go outside everyday to play. They aren’t stuck in desks all day, they move around and have hands on learning. 12/26/2016 9:22 PM

 

31 child-led, play-based nurturing education in a beautiful environment! 12/17/2016 6:54 PM

 

32 I compare it to purchasing an insurance policy to insure your child loves school. 12/16/2016 11:35 PM

 

33 Progressive education with a comprehensive curriculum that educates all aspects of a child’s development which include moral, social, emotional, as well as physical and academic. 12/16/2016 5:38 PM

 

34 It’s the coolest place you’ve ever seen – they have chickens…and a garden…and a greenhouse…trails…it’s unbelievable. 12/16/2016 4:57 PM

 

35 It’s a place where they meet your child where he/she is. They provide a safe environment for each child to feel safe and supported to grow into the person God created them to be as opposed to fitting into a pre-determined mold. 12/16/2016 4:44 PM

 

36 VCS is a progressive, liberal-minded school that focuses solely on elementary education and meeting students at their skill level. It is a happy and nurturing institution filled with great staff, great families, and high standards that make it the ideal school. 12/16/2016 2:12 PM

 

37 VCS is a wonderful little school that values children as important members of our community and works hard to create compassionate leaders. 12/16/2016 11:13 AM

 

38 Small close knit community, family-oriented, supportive staff/faculty, loving 12/13/2016 11:59 PM

 

39 I usually start by describing the outside “classroom” then work my way towards when I have learned in DCYP class and use that as an example of how the teachers teach and treat the children 12/13/2016 1:27 PM

 

40 A great product driven by emotional decisions 12/12/2016 11:58 PM

 

41 Very open and very welcoming. Very child oriented 12/12/2016 4:33 PM

 

42 Positive discipline child-led curriculum. Helping children become capable and independent in problem solving. Teaching to the whole child. 12/12/2016 1:38 PM

 

43 Its a beautiful campus. The teachers love our kids. It is culturally diverse and offers broad based learning activities. 12/12/2016 12:45 PM

 

44 We have been very happy with the school. It is expensive but we enjoy it. We love the HOS Debbie Houston. Our kids have excelled in the environment, one more than the other. 12/11/2016 6:14 PM

 

45 it is a very special school where children can learn things from different perspectives and kids love the school. Yet, the tuition is very expensive. 12/11/2016 4:56 PM

 

46 An amazing experience for kids. Not just a great school, but the basis for their future.. 12/9/2016 9:52 PM

 

47 An amazing school with a warm and loving environment for growth and learning. 12/9/2016 7:29 PM

 

48 That it is the most amazing school that I’ve experienced! I can’t believe how consistent the language is across faculty and staff in communicating how they teach children. Truly Amazing! 12/9/2016 11:14 AM

 

49 A progressive school that focuses on the whole child. 12/8/2016 10:03 PM

 

50 I have a tough time so I send a newsletter from the classroom. The camping one in the 3’s was pretty amazing 12/8/2016 5:27 PM

 

51 Amazing. 12/8/2016 4:27 PM

 

52 The children learn by doing and exploring. It is an interactive process between the student and teacher. 12/8/2016 3:49 PM

 

53 Top-notch elementary and preschool in a beautiful setting with a progressive and student-focused approach (with an awesome head). 12/8/2016 1:17 PM

 

54 Progressive 12/8/2016 9:15 AM

 

55 See explanation to #7. 12/7/2016 11:21 PM

 

56 Chance is a private school that goes from preschool to 5th grade that values hands-on learning and teaching the whole person. It’s small and pretty tight-knit, where everybody kind of knows each other. 12/7/2016 10:53 PM

 

57 It is a small progressive school near the river. 12/7/2016 10:36 PM

 

58 VCS is an incredible learning environment for our preschooler. It is unlike any other school in Louisville. 12/7/2016 10:11 PM

 

59 It’s a child-centered approach that encourages children to be independent and learn at their own pace. 12/7/2016 9:37 PM

 

60 On of my favorite places to be, let alone send my child. 12/7/2016 5:51 PM

 

61 I couldn’t imagine my child learning in a better environment. Every day, she has the opportunity to think for herself, make decisions and steer her educational journey through real, hands-on experience. She is smart, well-adjusted, thoughtful, creative, kind, and inquisitive 3 year old – and I consider Virginia Chance School to be a primary reason for such. 12/7/2016 4:22 PM

 

62 A wonderful place 12/7/2016 3:54 PM

 

63 A progressive program that teaches children how to think, not what to think 12/7/2016 2:46 PM

 

64 Caring teachers small classrooms & they make learning a fun & postitive experiance. 12/7/2016 2:26 PM

 

65 Everyday that I drop the kids off to school- I wish that I too could go back to VCS and be a student againEVERYDAY. I’m jealous of the education they are getting and at the same time so very happy that they get to be part of such a special place. I know that my kids are loved, protected and honored at VCS. 12/7/2016 2:16 PM

 

66 as a school that children are excited to attend, where they have the opportunities to explore interests and express themselves in safe, appropriate and fun ways 12/7/2016 1:54 PM

 

67 Progressive education with limited athletics. 12/7/2016 1:51 PM

 

68 Chance School teaches children how to think, not what to think. 12/7/2016 1:34 PM

 

69 Students explore and make mistakes and learn from them rather than just do what they’re told and then are judged good or bad. Social and emotional growth is as important and intentional as the academic curriculum. 12/7/2016 1:17 PM

 

70 A school that is more focused (than public school) on developing the social and emotional side of children. 12/7/2016 1:16 PM

 

71 A place where kids develop a life long love of learning while developing themselves in a compassionate environment. 12/7/2016 1:07 PM

 

72 I love the ability of the teachers to work with all levels of a particular grade. I love the evolving curriculum. 12/7/2016 12:56 PM

 

73 A school focusing on progressive education that offers kids a full and complete educational experience. 12/7/2016 12:52 PM

 

74 My child loves attending Chance because it is child-led and offers outdoor experiences as well as a comprehensive array of activities for child development. As a parent, I love Chance because I feel valued and involved and confident each day my child attends. 12/7/2016 12:42 PM

 

75 great school that works to meet the needs of my student. 12/7/2016 12:38 PM

 

76 Great place where kids learn to learn 12/7/2016 12:17 PM